- Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer 2nd ed.
Comprehensive survey of 120 cancers, cancer drugs, traditional and alternative treatments, side effects and diagnostic procedures.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Children's Health: Infancy through Adolescence
Provides in-depth coverage of pediatric diseases and disorders, with issues related to physical and cognitive and behavioral development. Covers every major body system. There is a distinct emphasis on health issues affecting children under the age of four.
- Gale Encyclopedia of E-Commerce
Provides access to the world of Internet commerce and addresses the concerns of those who want to join the ranks of the Internet business community. Presents answers to common questions about website development, financing, advertising, and more. Features 470 essays covering topics and terms, profiles of the top e-commerce companies, biographies of e-commerce innovators, and coverage of events and legislation related to e-commerce.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law 2nd ed.
This encyclopedia fills a much-needed gap between legal texts focusing on the theory and history behind the law and more practical guides dealing with the law and its everyday effect upon its citizens. Containing approximately 200 articles, the Encyclopedia includes: brief descriptions of each issue's historical background, covering important statutes and cases; profiles of various U.S. laws and regulations; and details of how laws and regulations vary from state to state.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders 2nd ed.
Provides clear, complete information on genetic disorders, including conditions, tests, procedures, treatments and therapies, in articles that are both comprehensive and easy to understand in language accessible to laypersons.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine 3rd ed.
Includes information on more than 1,600 medical disorders and concepts. Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics. Written for a general audience with an authoritative tone.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Disorders
Provides understandable yet detailed information on mental disorders and conditions, written in language understandable to the adult layperson. Includes entries for all 150 disorders classified in the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, text revision (DSM-IV-TR). It also features entries for prescription, alternative and over-the-counter drugs, as well as the various therapies used to treat mental disorders.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Neurological Disorders
Provides in-depth coverage of neurological diseases and disorders, including stroke, multiple sclerosis, Parkinson disease, Tourette Syndrome, Alzheimer's disease, cerebral palsy, vertigo, amnesia, and epilepsy, targeted to patients, their families and allied health students. Related topics include communication aids, electric personal assistive mobility devices, medications, and the needs of Alzheimer patient caregivers among others.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology 2nd ed.
This single-volume, accessible resource covers the entire spectrum of psychology, including: notable people, theories and terms; landmark case studies and experiments; applications of psychology in advertising, medicine and sports; and career information. More than 650 articles -- 65% of those are entirely new or updated since the last edition.
- Gale Encyclopedia of the Unusual and Unexplained
Responding to the surging interest among students for information on topics relating to magic, witchcraft, the supernatural and other mysterious phenomena, Gale presents this in-depth, comprehensive 3-vol. set. Information is arranged in an objective manner, presenting varying viewpoints when appropriate, and is written at a level that younger students and researchers can understand.
- Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History
Designed to answer such key questions as: How has the U.S. Constitution shaped the economy of the United States? What were the consequences of Prohibition on consumers behavior? This title presents 1,000 entries, era overviews, event/movement profiles, biographies, business/industry profiled, geographic profiles, and more.
- Gambling: What's at Stake?
This ebook presents in-depth information on how casino gambling, sports gambling, lotteries, and Internet gambling work, provides up-to-date financial data for each, and discusses the effects of these and other gambling activities on the communities in which they take place. Also discussed are American attitudes toward gambling.
- Gender Issues and Sexuality: Essential Primary Sources
A focus on leading social issues of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. Each title contains approximately 175 full or excerpted documents---speeches, legislation, magazine and newspaper articles, essays, memoirs, letters, interviews, novels, songs, and works of art---as well as overview information that places each document in context
- Genetics and Genetic Engineering
Focuses on the social and moral issues surrounding genetics and genetic engineering.
- Gothic Literature: A Gale Critical Companion
Spans all facets of Gothic literature, including visual and performing arts, society and culture, themes, and settings. Includes primary source documents and critical material to provide a contextual perspective, a related chronology of key events, full-text commentaries, and lists of further readings.
- Government, Politics, and Protest: Essential Primary Sources
A collection of primary source documents that focus on leading social issues of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. International in scope, each title is devoted to one topic.
- Growing Old in America
Contains statistics on the elderly, discusses their living arrangements, work, health care, and special problems, and examines subsets of the elderly population such as women and minorities.
- Growing Up: Issues Affecting America's Youth
Focuses on the social and moral issues surrounding America's youth.
- Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
Encyclopedia providing unequaled coverage on more than 4,000 species, and includes more than 11,000 images, illustrations, and maps.
- Gun Control: Restricting Rights or Protecting People?
This ebook explores various aspects of gun control in the United States. Includes information on firearms laws, firearms and crimes, guns and youth, public attitudes toward gun control, and gun control laws.